We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards Shortlist

Congratulations to the authors, illustrators and publishers who have been named in the 2018 Western Australian Book Awards shortlist.

Emerging Writer Shortlist: ($15,000) for the first published work of prose, poetry or narrative nonfiction, in any genre.

  • if i tell you by Alicia Tuckerman (Pantera Press)
  • The Rúin Dervla by McTiernan (HarperCollins Publishers)
  • The Sky Runs Right by Through Us by Reneé Pettitt-Schipp (UWA publishing)
  • The Wounded Sinner by Gus Henderson (Magabala Books)
  • You belong here by Laurie Steed (Margaret River Press)

Writing for Children Shortlist: ($15,000) for a work of prose, poetry or narrative nonfiction written for children (0 to 12 years of age), in any genre.

  • Grandpa, Me and Poetry, written by Sally Morgan and illustrated by Craig Smith (Scholastic Australia)
  • The Happiness Box, written by Mark Greenwood and illustrated by Andrew McLean (Walker Books Australia)
  • The Hole Story, written and illustrated by Kelly Canby (Fremantle Press)
  • How to Win a Nobel Prize, co-authored by Barry Marshall and Lorna Hendry, with illustrations by Bernard Caleo (Piccolo Nero, Schwartz Publishing Pty Ltd)
  • Puddle Hunters, written by Kirsty Murray and illustrated by Karen Blair (Allen & Unwin)

The Daisy Utemorrah Award for Unpublished Indigenous Junior and YA Writing Shortlist: ($15,000 and a publishing contract with Magabala Books) for a new unpublished manuscript for a work of junior and young adult fiction, including graphic novels, by an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander.

  • Paul Callaghan, ‘Coincidence’
  • Kirli Saunders, ‘Mother Speaks’
  • Carl Merrison and Hakea Hustler, ‘Tracks of the Missing’

Fellowship Shortlist ($60,000) designed to assist a Western Australian writer, of any genre, to develop their writing practice and give them the time to create new work.

  • A.J. Betts
  • Amanda Curtin
  • Craig Silvey
  • Kylie Howarth
  • Madeline Dickie

The winners of the 2018 Premier’s Book Awards will be announced on Friday 26 July 2019 during the Disrupted Festival of Ideas at the State Library of Western Australia.

Posted in NewsTagged
Don't miss this very special event...

A Literary Cruise with William Dalrymple

Advertisement Click to visit the advertiser's website