We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

Walter McRae Russell Award 2019 Shortlist

Tony Hughes-d’Aeth is among the authors shortlisted for the ASL Walter McRae Russell Award 2019, for his book, Like Nothing on this Earth: A Literary History of the Wheatbelt, published by UWA Publishing in 2017.

The Walter McRAe Russell Award is given to the best book of literary scholarship on an Australian subject published in the preceding two calendar years. No nominations are required for this award, though ASAL members are invited to propose books for consideration by the judging panel.

Other authors on the shortlist are:

  • Katherine Bode, A World of Fiction: Digital Collections and the Future of Literary History, University of Michigan Press, 2018.
  • David Carter and Roger Osborne, Australian Books and Authors in the American Marketplace, 1840-1940s, Sydney University Press, 2018.
  • Jessica Gildersleeve, Christos Tsiolkas: The Utopian Vision, Cambria Press, 2017.
  • Brigid Rooney, Suburban Space, the Novel and Australian Modernity, Anthem Press, 2018.

The winner will be announced in July.

Posted in NewsTagged

Help us to create a state of opportunity for writers and readers in Western Australia

Make your gift to Writing WA before June 30 to receive a tax deduction.  

Find out more >