We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

The Novel Prize

Logos of Giramondo, Fitzcarraldo Editions and New Directions logos

Giramondo Publishing, Fitzcarraldo Editions and New Directions are pleased to announce The Novel Prize, a new biennial award for a book-length work of literary fiction written in English by published and unpublished writers around the world.

The Novel Prize offers US$10,000 to the winner in the form of an advance against royalties, and simultaneous publication of their novel in Australia and New Zealand by Giramondo Publishing, in the UK and Ireland by the London-based Fitzcarraldo Editions, and in North America by New York’s New Directions.

The judges will be looking for novels which explore and expand the possibilities of the form, and are innovative and imaginative in style.

Submissions will be open from 1 April to 1 July 2020, with Fitzcarraldo Editions reading submissions from Africa and Europe, Giramondo from Asia and Australasia, and New Directions from the Americas.

A shortlist will be made public in December 2020, with the winner announced in February 2021.

Submission information for writers from Asia and Australasia will be available on Giramondo’s website from 1 April 2020. The winning novel will be published in early 2022.

Find out more from Giramondo, or visit The Novel Prize website.

Posted in Competitions, NewsTagged ,

Help us to create a state of opportunity for writers and readers in Western Australia

Together we will make a difference.  

Find out more >