We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

Fogarty Literary Award Winner Announced

Rebecca Higgie holding winner certificate and bunch of flowers

Rebecca Higgie has won the inaugural Fogarty Literary Award for her manuscript The History of Mischief.

Announced at a special ceremony at the ECU Spiegeltent on Wednesday 22 May 2019, Rebecca’s manuscript was chosen from a field of 64 manuscripts by Western Australian writers aged 18 to 35. Higgie won a $20,000 cash prize from the Fogarty Foundation and secured a publishing contract with Fremantle Press.

Fremantle Press CEO Jane Fraser said the quality of the shortlisted manuscripts was so high that more than one contract would be awarded. Thus, congratulations also go to Emma Young and Michael Burrows, who will be offered publishing contracts for their shortlisted manuscripts The Last Bookstore and Where the Line Breaks.

The History of Mischief is scheduled for publication in 2020 with, with publishing dates for The Last Bookstore and Where the Line Breaks to follow.

Please visit the Frementle Press website for more information about the winner, shortlisted writers and their manuscripts.

Posted in NewsTagged
Don't miss this very special event...

A Literary Cruise with William Dalrymple

Advertisement Click to visit the advertiser's website