We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

Writing WA Literary Lions Medal

The Writing WA Literary Lions Medal, produced by The Perth Mint, and a cash prize of $10,000 contributed by Writing WA’s Literary Lions, will be presented annually to an individual within our sector in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the vitality and success of Western Australia’s literary culture.

Why have we created the Literary Lions Medal?

The inaugural Writing WA Literary Lions Medal is being launched in 2019 to recognise 10 years of philanthropic investment in our State’s writing culture by the Literary Lions, our private donors. Like Writing WA, the Lions have been behind the scenes during the past decade, quietly contributing to the development and enrichment of our State’s writing sector. Their generosity has helped us to build a state of opportunity for writers and readers.

To celebrate this milestone 10th anniversary, we are turning a spotlight back onto the many other passionate individuals and unsung heroes across the sector who are working to ensure our writing culture thrives now and into the future.

The Writing WA Literary Lions Medal will recognise and reward an individual who has inspired us through their practice, dedication and commitment. In celebrating the contribution and achievement of the individual, we champion the literary culture that they participate in.

Who is eligible to be nominated?

Any current Western Australian resident who has made a contribution to Western Australia’s literary culture, either over time (ie through consistent service or a body of work) or through a specific initiative (which may include a program that has been established, an opportunity that has been created, an advocacy effort, or a specific publication of unique significance).

Who is not eligible to be nominated?

> Any individual who is a current member of the Writing WA Board, its staff, or contractors.
> Any individual who is a current contributor to the Literary Lions group.
> Non-residents of Western Australia.

Who can make a nomination?

All Writing WA member organisations* are invited to make one nomination.
We encourage you to think both within and beyond your own organisations to identify the one person who you feel deserves special recognition within our sector and wider community.

*Member organisations are those who are paid up financial members prior to the nomination period closing.

How can I make a nomination?

Member organisations can make their nominations through the Members-only area of the Writing WA website where an online nomination form is available.

How will the Medal Recipient be selected?

A panel will be established to review submissions and select the Medal recipient. Nominations will be reviewed against the following key criteria:
> Significance of contribution to Western Australia’s literary culture and degree of impact on the sector.
> Demonstrated excellence, leadership and initiative.
Consideration may also be given to the following:
> Length of activity or service.
> Degree of difficulty of the achievement.

What is the deadline for nominations?

5.00pm, Friday 27 September, 2019.

When will the Medal presentation take place?

The Medal will be presented at a ceremony to be held at the Perth Mint on Tuesday 3 December, 2019.

Posted in News, Opportunities
A slice of Ubud Writers & Readers Festival here in Perth

Join Us on 1 November for Kembali 20 Perth

Book Now