We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

2020 City of Fremantle Hungerford Award Shortlist

Image is of the three shortlisted writers of the 2020 City of Fremantle Hungerford Award

Our warmest congratulations to Sharron Booth, Jo Morrison and Maria Papas who are all shortlisted for the 2020 City of Fremantle Hungerford Award.

Fremantle Press Publisher and City Of Fremantle Hungerford Award judge, Georgia Richter, said the shortlist is once again a cohort of strong and exciting manuscripts. Richter said, ‘Sharron Booth’s historical novel, The Silence of Water, is an exploration of exile and belonging; Joanna Morrison’s off-beat crime novel, Still Dark, revives old friendships via an inventive mode of narration; and in I Belong to the Lake, Maria Papas’s literary fiction skilfully traverses the experiences of what it is like to be a child with a sibling who is dangerously ill.’

All three writers are in the running for $15,000 in prize money from the City of Fremantle and a publishing contract with Fremantle Press. The winner will be announced at the Fremantle Arts Centre on 29 October.

Find out more from the Fremantle Press website.

Posted in NewsTagged , ,

Love to Read Local With Us

Find out more