We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

2019 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards: Winners Announced

Western Australian Premier's Book Awards 2019 logo with an image of a numbat

The winners of the 2019 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards were announced on Friday 7 August 2020.

The winners of this year’s Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards were selected from strong shortlists, and announced at a live event at the State Library of Western Australia, as well as being live streamed via YouTube.

Our warmest congratulations go to the winners of the following categories:

Western Australian Writers Hall of Fame: Kim Scott

Premier’s Prize for an emerging writer ($15,000): Invisible Boys by Holden Sheppard (Fremantle Press)

Premier’s Prize for writing for children ($15,000): Catch a Falling Star by Meg McKinlay (Walker Books)

The Daisy Utemorrah Award for unpublished Indigenous junior and YA writing ($15,000 and a publishing contract with Magabala Books): ‘Our Matriarchs Matter’ by Teela May Reid

Western Australian Writing Fellowship ($60,000): Amanda Curtin.

For more information about the winners, visit the SLWA website.

Posted in NewsTagged , ,

Love to Read Local With Us

Find out more