We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

2019 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards: Shortlist Announced

The Minister for Culture and the Arts, David Templeman, has announced the shortlists for the 2019 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards. The shortlists are as follows:

The Premier’s Prize for an Emerging Writer ($15,000)

  • Fabulous Lives by Bindy Pritchard (Margaret River Press)
  • Invisible Boys by Holden Sheppard (Fremantle Press)
  • Rapture’s Roadway by Virginia Jealous (Ventura Press)
  • The Wooleen Way by David Pollock (Scribe Publications)
  • Wombat, Mudlark and Other Stories by Helen Milroy (Fremantle Press)

The Premier’s Prize for Writing for Children ($15,000)

  • Alex and the Alpacas Save the World by Kathryn Lefroy (Fremantle Press)
  • Catch a Falling Star by Meg McKinlay (Walker Books Australia)
  • Let me Sleep, Sheep! by Meg McKinlay, illustrated by Leila Rudge (Walker Books Australia)
  • The Gift by Michael Speechley (Penguin Random House Australia)
  • Violet and Nothing by Fiona Burrows (Fremantle Press)

 The Western Australian Writer’s Fellowship ($60,000)

  • Amanda Curtin
  • Lucy Dougan
  • Rafeif Ismail
  • Caitlin Maling
  • Carl Merrison

The Daisy Utemorrah Award for Unpublished Indigenous Junior and YA Fiction ($15,000 and a publishing contract with Magabala Books)

  • Our Matriarchs by Teela May Reid
  • 18 Comments by Ellen van Neerven
  • Swell by Elizabeth Stuart
  • Yenda by Jannali Jones; and
  • Noble Intentions by Krista Dunstan

Congratulations to all those shortlisted. The winners of the 2019 Premier’s Book Awards will be announced in August 2020 at the State Library of Western Australia. During the event, a new inductee will be welcomed into the WA Writers Hall of Fame.

Visit the State Library of Western Australia’s website for further details.

Posted in NewsTagged

Love to Read Local With Us

Find out more