We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

2019 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

The winners of the 2019 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced by the Prime Minister the Hon Scott Morrison MP and the Minister for the Arts the Hon Paul Fletcher MP, at a special ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra.

Among the winners are Western Australian authors, Paul Genoni and Tanya Dalziell, for Half the Perfect World: Writers, Dreamers and Drifters on Hydra, 1955–1964 (Monash University Publishing), which won the Non-Fiction category.

Winners in the other categories include:

  • Fiction: The Death of Noah Glass by Gail Jones (Text Publishing);
  • Australian history: The Bible in Australia: A Cultural History by Meredith Lake (NewSouth Publishing);
  • Poetry: Sun Music: New and Selected Poems, Judith Beveridge (Giramondo Press);
  • Children’s literature: His Name Was Walter, Emily Rodda (Angus & Robertson);
  • Young adult literature: The Things That Will Not Stand, Michael Gerard Bauer (Omnibus Books).

Further details can be found on the Australian Government Department of Communications and the Arts website.

Posted in NewsTagged

Help us to create a state of opportunity for writers and readers in Western Australia

Together we will make a difference.  

Find out more >