We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Lionel Shriver in conversation with Meri Fatin (Online)

12 May @ 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

$10

Beaufort Street Books presents a Zoom in-conversation event between Meri Fatin and author Lionel Shriver to discuss her latest novel, The Motion of the Body Through Space.

About the book: Allergic to group activities of any kind, all her life Serenata has run, swum, and cycled – on her lonesome. But now that she’s hit 60, all that physical activity has destroyed her knees. As she contemplates surgery with dread, her previously sedentary husband Remington, recently and ignominiously redundant, chooses this precise moment to discover exercise.

Which should be good for his health, right? Yet as he joins the cult of fitness that seems increasingly to consume the whole of the Western world, her once-modest husband burgeons into an unbearable narcissist. Ignoring all his other obligations in the service of extreme sport, he engages a saucy, taunting personal trainer named Bambi, who treats his wife with contempt. When Remington announces his intention to compete in a legendarily gruelling triathlon, MettleMan, Serenata is sure he’s going to end up injured or dead – but the stubbornness of an ageing man in Lycra is not to be underestimated.

This conversation will take place on Tuesday 12 May at 9.30pm AEST, 9.00pm ACST, 7.30pm AWST,   and 12.30pm London, UK.

A unique link will be sent out 1 hour prior to the event to ticket holders.  Your video and microphone is not used in this event, the link gives you the ability to watch the conversation live and pose questions via your screen.

Details

Date:
12 May
Time:
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Cost:
$10
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, ,
Website:
https://www.trybooking.com/book/event?eid=622438&

Organiser

Beaufort Street Books
Phone:
6142 7996
Website:
https://beaufortstreetbooks.com.au/

Love to Read Local With Us

Find out more