We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

Sisters in Crime Australia’s 20th Davitt Awards

Sisters in Crime Australia’s 20th Davitt Awards for the best crime and mystery books by Australian women are now open.

The Davitts are named after Ellen Davitt, the author of Australia’s first mystery novel, Force and Fraud, in 1865.

Publishers have until Thursday 30 April to enter. Self-published books are eligible. Books co-authored or edited by men are not.

The Awards cost publishers nothing to enter. A longlist will be published in May, a shortlist in July.

This year the Davitts are again sponsored by Swinburne University of Technology.

Six Davitt Awards will be presented at a gala dinner in Melbourne, probably in late August or early September:

  • Best Adult Novel;
  • Best Young Adult Novel;
  • Best Children’s Novel;
  • Best Non-fiction Book;
  • Best Debut Book (any category); and
  • Readers’ Choice (as voted by the 550+ members of Sisters in Crime Australia).

Prizes: The awards are handsome carved polished wooded trophies featuring the front cover of the winning novel under Perspex. No prize money is attached.

To enter the Davitts, publishers should contact Carmel Shute, Sisters in Crime, National Co-convenor ASAP on [email protected], and get books to the judges before 30 April.

Details of the award can also be found on the Sisters in Crime Australia website.

Posted in CompetitionsTagged , ,

Help us to create a state of opportunity for writers and readers in Western Australia

Together we will make a difference.  

Find out more >