We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript

The Dorothy Hewett Award is open to all writers who have completed a manuscript and are seeking publication. The work must be fiction, narrative nonfiction or poetry, inclusive of hybrid genres such as verse novels or memoir.

Word limits: The work must be fiction, narrative non-fiction, or a poetry collection of more than 90 pages. Works of prose must be at least 40,000 words.

Entry fee: $15.00.

Prize: The winner will receive a cash prize of $10,000.00, courtesy of Copyright Agency, and will be offered a publishing contract by UWA Publishing.

The judges for the 2020 award are Terri-ann White, Director UWA Publishing; Elfie Shiosaki, Lecturer in the School of Indigenous Studies at The University of Western Australia; and James Ley, author and contributing editor of Sydney Review of Books. 

Closing date: Friday August 30 2019.

A shortlist will be announced in November, with a ceremony to celebrate the winner in early 2020.

For more information, please visit UWA Publishing’s website.

Posted in CompetitionsTagged
Enter by 1 September for your chance to win!

Win a Festival Pass and 5 nights’ accommodation for 2 people at this year’s Ubud Writers Festival

Find out more >