We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

City of Stirling History and Heritage Awards

The City of Stirling established the biannual History and Heritage Awards to recognise the efforts made by individuals and groups in the pursuit of conserving the City’s history and heritage.

History and Heritage have been separated into two categories. The history category focuses on photographs from times gone by. The heritage category focuses on the conservation of the built environment, streetscapes, education and the promotion of heritage within the wider community.

Category 1 – Stirling memories: A photograph with a story

A photograph taken within the City of Stirling before 1990 with a caption and a short story (up to 200 words).

Prizes: Winner ($500.00); Runner-up ($300.00)

Category 2 – Stirling memories: A photograph with a caption

A photograph taken within the City of Stirling before 1990 with a caption (up to 10 words).

Prizes: Winner ($400.00); Runner up ($200.00)

Category 3 – Youth entry award

16 – 18 years old are invited to take a photograph of a building, place or event in the City of Stirling and write why this is special to you (up to 150 words).

Prizes: Winner ($200.00 Gift Voucher); Runner up ($100.00 Gift Voucher)

Heritage Categories

Heritage categories include: Conservation of the built environment and streetscape; Education and promotion of heritage; and The Barrie Baker special recognition award.

Closing date: Friday 14 February 2020.

For more information about the awards, please visit the City of Stirling website.

Posted in Competitions, Young WritersTagged ,

Help us to create a state of opportunity for writers and readers in Western Australia

Together we will make a difference.  

Find out more >