We're between the lines, helping our writing industry thrive

2019 Queensland Literary Awards

The 2019 Queensland Literary Awards are now open, with ten national prizes for outstanding books by Australian writers, illustrators and creators:

Published book awards – nominations close 31 May 2019

  • Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of State Significance (must highlight a uniquely Queensland story)
  • The University of Queensland Fiction Book Award
  • The University of Queensland Non-Fiction Book Award
  • Griffith University Young Adult Book Award
  • Griffith University Children’s Book Award
  • QUT Digital Literature Award
  • University of Southern Queensland History Book Award
  • University of Southern Queensland Steele Rudd Award for a Short Story Collection
  • Judith Wright Calanthe Award for a Poetry Collection
  • The Courier-MailPeople’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year Award

Unpublished manuscript and development awards  – nominations close 30 June 2019

  • Queensland Writers Fellowships (QLD writers only)
  • David Unaipon Award for an Emerging Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Writer
  • Glendower Award for an Emerging Queensland Writer (QLD writers only)
  • Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards (QLD writers up to 30 years of age only)

Eligible works must be first published and offered for general sale in Australia between 1 June 2018 and 31 May 2019.

Entry fee: $50 for published works ($10 Early Bird discount available for nominations received in April). No nomination fee required for unpublished manuscript and development awards.

Total prize pool is $253,500.

For more information and to download guidelines, please visit the State Library of Queensland website.


Posted in CompetitionsTagged ,

Help us to create a state of opportunity for writers and readers in Western Australia

Make your gift to Writing WA before June 30 to receive a tax deduction.  

Find out more >