The Bridport Prize

posted in Competitions on 15 March, 2019

The Bridport Prize is an international writing competition dedicated to finding and encouraging the most promising new writers from across the world. Each year the judges award over £18,000 in prize money for your best submissions in poetry, short stories, flash fiction and first novels.


  • Poems: 42 lines maximum. £10 for each poem submitted.
  • Short Stories: up to 5,000 words. £12 for each short story submitted.
  • Flash Fiction Prize: 250 words. £9 for each flash fiction story submitted.

There is also a category for the first chapter of a novel, but this is only open to writers in Britain and Ireland.

In addition to cash prizes, placed winners (1st, 2nd & 3rd prize), Highly Commended winners and the twenty writers long-listed for the novel award are published in the Bridport Prize anthologies each October.

Past judges include Ali Smith, Roger McGough, Carol Ann Duffy, U A Fanthorpe, Kate Atkinson, Margaret Drabble, Andrew Motion and Tracy Chevalier.

Closing date: 31 May 2019.


Contact Details

Bridport Prize