S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award

posted in Competitions on 16 May, 2019

The Kennedy Foundation will host the 10th  S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award in conjunction with the inaugural Kennedy Lecture dinner in September 2019. 

Sandra (Dawn) Harvey was an outstanding print journalist and television producer who was also the author and co-author of five true crime books. With long-time collaborator Lindsay Simpson she won the Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007.

The S.D. Harvey Short Crime Story Award, formerly run by ACWA as one of the Ned Kelly Awards, offers entrants the opportunity to produce a ripping yarn this time in either fiction or non-fiction (creative non-fiction or long-form journalism). Entries must embody the art of storytelling with good literary prose, a tight plot, good dialogue and be well structured.

Word limit: 3000-5000 words.

Entry fee: $50

Prizes: A cash prize and day trip for two aboard the Providence V, a classic schooner based in the Whitsundays, QLD, will be offered by new sponsor, Providence Sailing.

Closing date: Monday 1 July 2019.

More information can be found on the Kennedy Awards website.


Contact Details

The Kennedy Foundation

Email Address:
[email protected]