Writers United

Winners Announcement of the Stuart Hadow

posted in Events on 10 August, 2017

The Stuart Hadow Prize is an annual short story competition run by the Fellowship of Australian Writers WA in honour of WA writers Lyndall Hadow and Donald Stuart. Each year, the contest attracts high quality entries from around Australia, and in 2017 the prize pool has increased with first prize now offering $1,000 and a week's unpaid residency at Mattie Furphy House in Swanbourne. The contest is open theme, with a maximum of 3,000 words per story.

The competition is now closed and entries are in the capable hands of our judge, Perth author, Elizabeth Tan.

In 2015, Elizabeth completed her PhD in creative writing at Curtin University. Her thesis investigated the intrusion of science-fictional tropes and iconography onto our current social reality, and the cultural anxieties that this has produced.

This practice-led research culminated in her first novel Rubik, published in 2017. Elizabeth’s fiction has appeared in Voiceworks, Westerly, The Lifted Brow, Sleepers Almanac, Overland, Seizure, Best Australian Stories and Tincture. She is also the creator of Mais Pourquoi, a webcomic.

Elizabeth will be appearing at the 2017 Melbourne Writers Festival.

The date of the announcement of the winners of the Stuart Hadow is Sunday 17 September from 1-3pm at Mattie Furphy House. For those attending the Book Length Project Group, and others who arrive early, the Fellowship will provide lunch of warm winter soup and bread, for a gold coin donation.


Facebook Page:

Event Details

17th September 2017

13:00 to 15:00

Mattie Furphy House, Clare Copse, Swanbourne


Contact Details

Fellowship of Australian Writers WA

Pat Johnson

Phone Number:

Email Address:
[email protected]