2019 Youth Songwriting Competition Finalists announced

posted in Young Writers on 14 March, 2019

Congratulations to the following finalists in the 2019 Act-Belong-Commit Fairbridge Festival Quest Youth Song-writing Competition:

In the 12-15 year-old category:
  • IIlish Coolican (St Mary's Anglican School) for Waiting on Wednesday and Why not Try
  • Tex Holmes (John Curtin College of the Arts) for Fire in Freo Prison
  • Sofia Hourani (Fremantle College) for Learn our Names
  • Anika Louise Lawrence (Canning Vale College) for Just Friends
  • Greta Lynch (Iona Presentation College) for Can't be Friends
  • Lucy Tartaglia (Manjimup Senior High School) for Just Waiting
In the 16-18 year-old category:
  • Emily Burton (UWA) for I Dare You
  • Jye Criddle (Halls Head Community College) for Run Cold
  • Josh Ellis, Jonny Morris and Issai Quintana (Christ Church Grammar School) for Waiting
  • Bella Fasolo (Great Southern Grammar School) for Night Sky
  • Maia Harcourt (John Curtin College of the Arts) for Anthropocene
  • Isaac Smalley (Fremantle College) for Trevor Jenkins the Rubbish Warrior and What Remains of Marie Claire
This competition's four judges Em Burrows (WAM, Vinnie Crea (WAAPA), Rose Parker (singer/song-writer) and Rod Vervest (Fairbridge Festival) agonised over a very high standard of entries to arrive at the shortlist.

The twelve short-listed acts will battle it out to win one of four prize packages, which include playing live on the Backlot stage on 28 Apil at this year's Fairbridge Festival.

To determine the winners, the final event will take place on Saturday 23 March at the Paul Latham Auditorium, Churchlands Senior High School where finalists will also perform with 2018 ABCFFQ winners. 

In the lead up to the final event, finalists will be offered individual sessions to hone their songs and performance techniques working with Vinnie Crea, Coordinator of the Music Artist Stream at WAAPA.

Tickets for the final event are available online.


Event Details

23rd March 2019

18:30 to 21:30

Contact Details

Fairbridge Festival

Leanne Casellas

Email Address:
[email protected]