Board of Management 2019

Guy Boyce, Chair

Guy is a professional arts manager who is currently Artistic Director/CEO of Mandurah Performing Arts Centre (since June 2010) and Chair of CircuitWest, the performing arts presenter association of WA (since October 2011). Under his leadership MANPAC has expanded its program and profile in WA through applying its vision to become a leading
‘centre for the arts’ in Australia. This vision has enabled MANPAC to develop literary events as a core part of its offering through key partnerships with Mandurah Libraries and writingWA. In 2015 this saw MANPAC present the pilot Writers on the Road program with the Pyjama Party and A Glass of Wine and a Good Book. In 2017 MANPAC presented the first Sydney Writers Festival Live and Local program in WA with writingWA support. Through his leadership of CircuitWest the presentation of literary events is becoming a core part of the offering of the performing arts presenter circuit. In his previous role as Director of the Christchurch Arts Festival (2000 – 2009) in New Zealand, Guy managed two Christchurch International Writers Festivals in 2006 and 2008, timed between the Brisbane and Melbourne Writers Festivals to enable sharing of program elements.

Holden Sheppard, Deputy Chair

Holden Sheppard is an award-winning author raised in Geraldton and now based in Perth. His debut Young Adult novel Invisible Boys, about teenage boys growing up gay in the country, won the 2018 City of Fremantle T.A.G. Hungerford Award and will be published by Fremantle Press in October 2019. His novella “Poster Boy” won the nationwide 2018 Novella Project competition and was published in Griffith Review. Holden’s writing has also appeared in Ten Daily, the Huffington Postpage seventeen and Indigo Journal.

Renato Sansalone, Treasurer

Renato is a Curtin University Commerce graduate and CPA. His current role is as Chief Financial Officer for Tourism WA and he previously held postings as Chief Finance Officer for the WA Museum and Art Gallery of WA while employed with the Department of Culture and the Arts.  Renato has almost 20 years' experience in the Government financial sector and has also worked at the Department for Planning and Infrastructure and the Department of Racing, Gaming and Liquor.  He has been a member of the writingWA Board since 2002.

Catherine Noske, Secretary

Catherine Noske completed her PhD in Creative Writing at Monash University (2013), and has since taught at Monash, Curtin University and the University of Western Australia. She has been a visiting research scholar at the University of Warwick (UK), and postgraduate representative to the Association for the Study of Australian Literature. She has twice received the Elyne Mitchell Prize for Rural Women Writers. She was awarded a Varuna fellowship (2014) for her manuscript 'The Call of Salt', which was shortlisted for the 2015 Dorothy Hewett Prize. Catherine took up the position of editor of Westerly Magazine in 2015.

Beth Herbert
Bio to follow.

Sue Henderson

Sue holds CPA and Chartered Management Accountant qualifications. Sue has broad finance, business improvement and program management skills and experience. Currently employed by Tourism WA with previous management and analysis roles across public and private sectors including NZ Navy and Goodman Fielder. Sue is also Treasurer for Native ARC, Western Australia’s largest wildlife animal hospital and loves sailing!

Tineke Van der Eecken

Tineke Van der Eecken was born and raised in Belgium. She studied 9 languages and holds a Masters Degree in Criminological Sciences and Mediator accreditation with over 15 years experience in governance of not-for-profit organisations in Africa, Europe and Australia. She is a writer, mediator and recognized community leader, a co-coordinator of Poetry d’Amour and writes poetry, short-stories and memoirs. She was Executive Officer of the Ethnic Communities Council of Western Australia briefly in 2005 and worked as Chief Executive Officer for the Lung Institute of Western Australia from 2009 until mid 2011. She is an alumnus of Leadership WA after completing their ‘Rising Leadership’ program in 2015.